ITIL 4 Certification vs ITIL v3 Certification Q&A

As you may realize ITIL v3 & ITIL 2011 were highly criticized on being out of date. ITIL v3 & ITIL 2011 are not compatible with new concepts such as DevOps and Agile. This situation makes almost all the process invalid or not applicable. Fortunately, Axelos decided to create a new IT Infrastructure Library called ITIL 4.

Personally, I was expecting some differences through Service Lifecycle Management. As you may remember ITIL v3 and ITIL 2011 does not have many differences through lifecycle and certification process. Those who caught in the middle at the certification process during this transition easily continued with the new certification path. However, this will not happen for the transition stage of ITIL 4.

This post will guide you how to deal with this transition during your certification journey.

How the Certification Level Has Changed for ITIL 4?

The whole certification completely changed for ITIL 4.

ITIL v3 & ITIL 2011 certification levels:

  • Foundation
  • Practitioner (Not mandatory)
  • Intermediate
    • Service Lifecycle Modules:
      • Service Strategy (SS)
      • Service Design (SD)
      • Service Transition (ST)
      • Service Operation (SO)
      • Continual Service Improvement (CSI)
    • Service Capability Modules:
      • Operational Support and Analysis (OSA)
      • Planning, Protection and Optimization (PPO)
      • Release, Control and Validation (RCV)
      • Service Offerings and Agreements (SOA).
  • Expert
  • Master
Advance your IT skills and career with Cisco training from the Cisco Learning Network Store.

ITIL 4 certification levels:

  • Foundation
  • Managing Professional
    • ITIL Specialist: Create, Deliver & Support
    • ITIL Specialist: Drive Stakeholder Value
    • ITIL Specialist: High-Velocity IT
    • ITIL Strategist: Direct, Plan & Improve
  • Strategic Leader
    • ITIL Strategist: Direct, Plan & Improve
    • ITIL Leader: Digital & IT Strategy
  • Master

ITIL 4 Certification for ITIL Experts & Masters

Unlike other certifications (such as PMP), ITIL certification is for life. Once you are an ITIL Expert, you are always an ITIL Expert.

However, I strongly recommend all ITIL Experts to understand ITIL 4 at least at the foundation level. You may read the book or get training which is up to you. Otherwise, you will lag behind. An “ITIL Managing Professional transition module” will be released if you are interested.

ITIL 4 Certification for ITIL Intermediate Level Certificate Holders

If your certification process continues according to ITIL v3 or ITIL 2011, you are actually the ones who caught in the middle of this certification dilemma. Axelos gives two options for those who have Intermediate credits.

  • Option 1: You can start over from ITIL 4 Foundation and get certified according to ITIL 4.
  • Option 2: You can complete your ITIL v3 & ITIL 2011 certification process before June 2020.

If you have only 3 credits (it means 1 module) for Intermediate level, it is recommended to select Option 1. If you have 6 or more credits for Intermediate level (it means at least 2 modules), then you may prefer Option 2.

If you prefer option 2, after you complete the certification process through ITIL Expert, you may consider the suggestions for “ITIL 4 Certification for ITIL Experts & Masters”

ITIL 4 Certification for ITIL Foundation Level Certificate Holders

If you only have the ITIL Foundation Certificate for ITIL v3 & ITIL 2011, you are at the beginning of your ITIL journey. Starting over and getting certified for ITIL 4 is a better option.

Further Questions?

There is a FAQ document published by AXELOS. Read the document to learn more.

I wish you a successful ITIL 4 journey. I hope ITIL 4 will be more compatible with the new approaches in IT world.